## Part V - Section 4

## Notifications by the Delimitation Commission of India

## DELIMITATION OF PARLIAMENTARY AND ASSEMBLY CONSTITUENCIES IN THE STATE OF TAMIL NADU.

No. SRO G- /2008.

The following Order of the Delimitation Commission of India, Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110 001, Dated 27<sup>th</sup> May, 2008 [6 Jyaistha, 1930 (Saka)], is published:-

## ORDER No. 59

**No.282/TN/2008-**WHEREAS, in pursuance of clause (d) of sub-section (2) of Section 9 read with sub-section (2) of Section 4 of the Delimitation Act, 2002(33 of 2002), as amended by the Delimitation (Amendment) Act, 2003 (3 of 2004), the Delimitation Commission has passed its final order (Order No. 52) determining the extent of Assembly and Parliamentary Constituencies in the State of Tamil Nadu on 3<sup>rd</sup> August, 2007; and

WHEREAS, the Commission has notified its final order dated 3<sup>rd</sup> August, 2007 <u>vide</u> its notification No. 282/TN/2007-Vol. IV, dated 13<sup>th</sup> August, 2007, in the Gazette of India and the State Gazette of Tamil Nadu Government; and

WHEREAS, after publication of final order, the Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu, vide his letter no. 3060/2003-291 dated 28<sup>th</sup> January, 2008 intimated to the Commission that the copies of the final notification of the Delimitation Commission regarding the delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies were forwarded to the District Election Officers for

verification as to whether there is any omission of revenue village in the said notification; and

WHEREAS, vide the above letter of the Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu, it was brought to the notice of the Commission that islands have been formed in 61-Harur (SC) and 231-Colachel ACs of Dharmapuri and Kanniyakumari districts respectively due to inclusion of Mangade revenue village and Vellimalai TP in 60-Pappireddipatti and 232-Padmanabhapuram ACs respectively; and

WHEREAS, the Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu has also pointed out certain corrections reported by the District Election Officers of Vellore, Salem and Tirunelveli with reference to the names of villages and description of the extent of the Assembly Constituencies; and

WHEREAS, the Commission has considered and verified the facts brought to its notice by the Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu in respect of Assembly Constituencies in Dharmapuri, Kanniyakumari, Vellore, Salem and Tirunelveli districts in the light of geographical contiguity and the provisions of the Delimitation Act, 2002 and the facts stated by the Chief Electoral Officer, Tamil Nadu have been found to be correct.

NOW THEREFORE, by way of this corrigendum to correct the above errors arising from inadvertent slips and having regard to the provisions of the Delimitation Act, the Delimitation Commission hereby orders that –

In Table A of the Commission's Notification No.282/TN/2007-Vol.IV, dated 13<sup>th</sup> August, 2007,

(1) Mangade revenue village shall be excluded from the extent of 60-Pappireddipatti Assembly Constituency and included in 61-Harur (SC) Assembly Constituency. Remaining extent of both the Assembly Constituencies shall remain unchanged.

(2) Vellimalai TP shall be excluded from the extent of 232-Padmanabhapuram Assembly Constituency and included in 231-Colachel Assembly Constituency. Remaining extent of both the Assembly Constituencies shall remain unchanged.

(3) In the extent of 47-Vaniyambadi AC, the existing entries "Venkatarajasamudram" and "Kanakapattu" shall be corrected and read as "Venkatarajapuram" and "Kavukkapattu" respectively.

(4) In the extent of 91 – Veerapandi AC the existing entry Vattamuthempatti appearing after Tirumalagiri and before Andipatti-Sowdapuram village shall be corrected and read as Vedugathampatti.

(5) In the extent of 227-Nanguneri AC, after the entry "Palayamkottai Taluk" the entry "(Except Tirunelveli M.Corp. wards)" shall be inserted.

The Commission's order No. 52, dated 13<sup>th</sup> August, 2007 stands amended accordingly.

This order issues with concurrence of all members of the Delimitation Commission.

(BY ORDER)

SHANGARA RAM, SECRETARY, DELIMITATION COMMISSION OF INDIA. Secretariat, Chennai 600 009, 29<sup>th</sup> May, 2008. NARESH GUPTA, Chief Electoral Officer and Principal Secretary to Government, Public (Elections) Department.