Changing Face of Electoral India: Delimitation 2008

Annexure - VII

#### MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE

(Legislative Department)

#### NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, the 19th February, 2008

S.O. 382(E) – The following Order made by the President is published for general information :

Whereas under the provisions of article 82 and article 170(3) of the Constitution, as amended by the Constitution (Eighty-fourth Amendment) Act, 2001, Parliament enacted the Delimitation Act, 2002 (33 of 2002) and a Delimitation Commission has been set up to readjust the division of each State and Union Territory into territorial constituencies for the purpose of elections to the House of the People and to the State Legislative Assemblies on the basis of census figures as ascertained at the census taken in the year 2001 [as envisaged under the Constitution (Eightly-seventh) Amendment Act, 2003];

And whereas, the final orders relating to the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies in respect of 25 States and the Union Territories have been made by the Delimitation Commission under Section 8 and 9 of the Delimitation Act, 2002 (33 of 2002) and were published in the Offial Gazettes;

And whereas on being satisfied that a situation has arisen where unity and integrity of India is likely to be threatened and there is a serious threat to peace and public order the delimitation exercise in the States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Manipur have been deferred under Sub-section (1) of Section 10A of the Delimitation Act, 2002 (33 of 2002) *vide* Orders published in the Gazette of India having numbers S.O. 283(E), S.O. 284(E), S.O. 285(E) and 286 (E), dated 8th February, 2008 respectively;

And whereas under Section 10B of the Delimitation Act, 2002 the final orders made by the Delimitation Commission in respect of the State of Jharkhand have been nullified until the year 2026 in relation to every election to the House of the People or to the Legislative Assembly to the held in that State;

And whereas the terms of the Legislative Assemblies of the States of Meghalaya and Tripura are due to expired on 10th March, 2008 and 19th March, 2008 respectively, and it is necessary to hold general elections to constitute the new Legislative Assemblies in these States at any time within the said due dates as per the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order 1976;

And whereas the election schedule for general elections to the Legislative Assemblies of Meghalaya and Tripura has been notified by the Election Commission under the Representation of the People Act, 1951 as per the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order 1976 for constituting the new Assemblies in the afforesaid States within the stipulated time.

Now, therefore, in exercise of the powers conferred by the second provisio to article 82 and the second proviso to clause (3) of article 170 of the Constitution, I, Pratibha Devisingh Patil, President of India, hereby specify—

(i) the date of this Order as the date on which readjustments notified by the Delimitation Commission in terms of Sections 8 and 9 of the DelimitationAct, 2002 in respect of the 22 States/Union Territories, given in the Delimitation Orders notified by the Delimitation Commission vide respective O.N. Numbers specified against the name of the State/Union Territory in PART-A of the TABLE below shall take effect; and

Annexure

(ii) the 20th day of March, 2008 as the date on which readjustments notified by the Delimitation Commission in terms of Sections 8 and 9 of the said Act in respect of the remaining 2 States of Tripura and Meghalaya, given in the Delimitation Orders notified by the Delimitation Commission vide respective O.N. Numbers specified against the name of the States in PART-B of the TABLE below shall take effect.

TABLE

Details of the Delimitation Orders issued by the Delimitation Commission and published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part-II, Section 3, Sub-section (iii)

SI. No.	Name of the State	Order No. (issued under Section 8 of the Delimitation Act, 2002) and Date	Order No. (issue under Section 9 of the Delimitation Act, 2002) and Date	Corrigendum/Supplementary Orders, if any and their date
1.	Goa	Order No. 2, O.N. 193(E) dated 08-11-2004	Order No. 5, O.N. 9(E) dated 31-03-2005	_
2.	Pondicherry	Order No. 1, O.N. 190(E) dated 08-10-2004	Order No. 6, O.N. 6(E) dated 31-03-2005	_
3.	Mizoram	Order No. 7, O.N. 13(E) dated 13-04-2005	Order No. 10, O.N. 27(E) dated 27-05-2005	Corrigendum dated 11-07-2005 O.N. 34(E)
4.	Kerala	Order No. 4, O.N. 6(E) dated 23-03-2005	Order No. 9, O.N. 29(E) dated 31-05-2005	Order No. 55, O.N. 2(E) dated 16-01-2008
5.	Rajasthan	Order No. 12, O.N. 35(E) dated 08-08-2005	Order No. 16, O.N. 4(E) dated 25-01-2006	_
6.	West Bengal	Order No. 11, O.N. 37(E) dated 08-08-2005	Order No. 18, O.N. 9(E) dated 15-02-2006	_
7.	Chhattisgarh	Order No. 14, O.N. 61(E) dated 12-12-2005	Order No. 24, O.N. 52(E) dated 02-06-2006	Corrigendum dated 25-08-2006, O.N. 71(E)
8.	Punjab	Order No. 15, O.N. 63(E) dated 12-12-2005	Order No. 22, O.N. 58(E) dated 19-06-2006	_
9.	Maharashtra	Order No. 21, O.N. 24(E) dated 28-03-2006	Order No. 26, O.N. 64(E) dated 31-07-2006	_

52

## Changing Face of Electoral India: Delimitation 2008

19th February, 2008

10.	Sikkim	Order No. 13, O.N. 42(E) dated 29-08-2005	Order No. 28, O.N. 80(E) dated 04-09-2006	_		
11.	Delhi	Order No. 17, O.N. 5(E) dated 27-01-2006	Order No. 30, O.N. 85(E) dated 20-09-2006	_		
12.	Gujarat	Order No. 23, O.N. 38(E) dated 19-05-2006	Order No. 33, O.N. 121(E) dated 12-12-2006	_		
13.	Orissa	Order No. 19, O.N. 19(E) dated 17-03-2006	Order No. 32, O.N. 122(E) dated 15-12-2006	_		
14.	Uttar Pradesh	Order No. 27, O.N. 62(E) dated 28-07-2006	Order No. 34, O.N. 123(E) dated 18-12-2006	Order No. 41, O.N. 50(E) dated 30-03-2007		
15.	Uttaranchal	Order No. 29, O.N. 78(E) dated 04-09-2006	Order No. 35, O.N. 124(E) dated 28-122006	_		
16.	Himachal Pradesh	Order No. 20, O.N. 22(E) dated 27-03-2006	Order No. 36, O.N. 2(E) dated 10-01-2007	_		
17.	Haryana	Order No. 31, O.N. 105(E) dated 30-10-2006	Order No. 39, O.N. 18(E) dated 15-02-2007	_		
18.	Andhra Pradesh	Order No. 37, O.N. 7(E) dated 22-01-2007	Order No. 46, O.N. 78(E) dated 31-05-2007	_		
19.	Madhya Pradesh	Order No. 38, O.N. 4(E) dated 19-01-2007	Order No. 45, O.N. 70(E) dated 14-05-2007	_		
20.	Karnataka	Order No. 42, O.N. 46(E) dated 23-03-2007	Order No. 49, O.N. 90(E) dated 02-07-2007	_		
21.	Tamil Nadu	Order No. 43, O.N. 52(E) dated 05-04-2007	Order No. 52, O.N. 108(E) dated 13-08-2007	_		
22.	Bihar	Order No. 48, O.N. 79(E) dated 11-06-2007	Order No. 54, O.N. 111(E) dated 17-08-2007	_		
PART-B						
23.	Tripura	Order No. 3, O.N. 3(E) dated 28-02-2005	Order No. 8, O.N. 18(E) dated 12-05-2005	_		
24.	Meghalaya	Order No. 40, O.N. 28(E) dated 12-03-2007	Order No. 50, O.N. 91(E) dated 02-07-2007	Corrigendum dated 02-07-2007, O.N. 89(E);		
				Corrigendum dated 30-07-2007, O.N. 104(E)		

54

PRESIDENT OF INDIA (F.No. H-11019(10)/2007-Leg-II] K.D. Singh Annexure

Annexure - VII Contd.

# MINISTRY OF LAW AND JUSTICE

(Legislative Department)

## CORRIGENDUM

New Delhi, the 21st February, 2008

S.O. 387(E) – In the English version of the notification of the Government of India in the Ministry of Law and Justice (Legislative Department), published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, Section 3, Sub-section (ii), dated 19th February, 2008 *vide* number S.O. 382(E) of the same date, specifying the date on which the new Delimitation Orders notified by the Delimitation Comission under the Delimitation Act, 2002 shall take effect in terms of articles 82 and 170 of the Constitution, –

At page 4, line 24, for "expired", read "expire";

At page 5, line 21, against S.No. 2 relating to Pondicherry, in column 4, for "Order No. 6, O.N. 6(E)," *read* "Order No. 6. O.N. 10(E)."

[F.No. H-11019(10)/2007-Leg.II] Dr. Sanjay Singh, Jt. Secy. & LC