## Public (Elections-III) Department

## **Press Release**

Out of 34 validly nominated candidates, 5 independent candidates have withdrawn their nomination today (30.01.2015), being the last date for withdrawal of candidature. With this, there are 29 contesting candidates in the fray for the Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 139.Srirangam Assembly Constituency. The list of contesting candidates along with party affiliation, for the above bye-election is given below:-

| Sl.<br>No. | Name of the candidate<br>(Tvl./Tmt.)  | Party affiliation                           |
|------------|---------------------------------------|---|
| 1.         | K. Annadurai                          | Communist Party of India (Marxist)          |
| 2.         | N. Anand                              | Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam                   |
| 3.         | M. Subramaniam                        | Bharatiya Janata Party                      |
| 4.         | S. Valarmathi                         | All India Anna Dravida Munnetra<br>Kazhagam |
| 5.         | V. Pandian                            | Ezhuchi Tamilargal Munnetra<br>Kazhagam     |
| 6.         | R. James Paul                         | All India Athithanar Makkal Katchi          |
| 7.         | B. Hemanathan                         | Janata Dal (United)                         |
| 8.         | C. Annamalai                          | Independent                                 |
| 9.         | M.S. Arumugam                         | Independent                                 |
| 10.        | P. Arumugam                           | Independent                                 |
| 11.        | E. Ananthan                           | Independent                                 |
| 12.        | D. Anand                              | Independent                                 |
| 13.        | P. Ravi                               | Independent                                 |
| 14.        | K.R. Ramaswamy @<br>Traffic Ramaswamy | Independent                                 |
| 15.        | M. Umar Ali                           | Independent                                 |
| 16.        | L. Kathiresan                         | Independent                                 |
| 17.        | R. Karthick                           | Independent                                 |
| 18.        | G. Shanmugam                          | Independent                                 |
| 19.        | M. Chandra Mohan                      | Independent                                 |
| 20.        | S.M. Settu                            | Independent                                 |

| 21. | R. Thirunavukkarasu  | Independent |
|-----|----------------------|-------------|
| 22. | Dr. K. Padmarajan    | Independent |
| 23. | S. Pandian           | Independent |
| 24. | M. Palraj            | Independent |
| 25. | M. Manmathan         | Independent |
| 26. | S. Valarmathi        | Independent |
| 27. | D. Valarmathi        | Independent |
| 28. | A. Visuvanathan      | Independent |
| 29. | P.N. Sriramachandran | Independent |

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER TAMIL NADU