Public (Elections-III) Department

Press Release

Withdrawal of nominations for the General Elections to Lok Sabha, 2014 and Bye-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from 28. Alandur was over by 3.00 p.m. today (9.4.2014). Out of the total number of 906 valid nominations for the Lok Sabha Elections, 61 candidates have withdrawn their nominations. Finally 845 candidates (Male: 789, Female: 55, Others: 1) are in the fray.

Out of the total number of 14 valid nominations for the 28.Alandur Assembly Bye-election, no candidate has withdrawn his nomination. Finally 14 candidates (Male: 12, Female: 2,) are in the fray. The above details are put on the website www.elections.tn.gov.in/loksabha2014.htm

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER TAMIL NADU

General Elections to Lok Sabha, 2014

TAMIL NADU

No. Name of the Parliamentary Constituency	Total No. of Validly Candidates				Tota		withdraw latures	al of	Total no. of contesting candidates			
	Male	Female	Others	Total	Male	Female	Others	Total	Male	Female	Others	Total
1-TIRUVALLUR (SC)	16	0	0	16	2	0	0	2	14	0	0	14
2-CHENNAI NORTH	43	2	0	45	5	0	0	5	38	2	0	40
3-CHENNAI SOUTH	37	5	0	42	0	0	0	0	37	5	0	42
4-CHENNAI CENTRAL	19	1	0	20	0	0	0	0	19	1	0	20
5-SRIPERUMBUDUR	23	0	0	23	2	0	0	2	21	0	0	21
6-KANCHEEPURAM (SC)	9	2	0	11	0	0	0	0	9	2	0	11
7-ARAKKONAM	28	0	0	28	1	0	0	1	27	0	0	27
8-VELLORE	23	1	0	24	0	0	0	0	23	1	0	24
9-KRISHNAGIRI	15	1	0	16	1	0	0	1	14	1	0	15
10-DHARMAPURI	16	2	0	18	3	0	0	3	13	2	0	15
11-TIRUVANNAMALAI	24	3	0	27	2	1	0	3	22	2	0	24
12-ARANI	18	1	0	19	0	0	0	0	18	1	0	19
13-VILUPPURAM (SC)	19	2	0	21	1	0	0	1	18	2	0	20
14-KALLAKURICHI	25	1	0	26	4	0	0	4	21	1	0	22
15-SALEM	23	3	0	26	1	0	0	1	22	3	0	25
16-NAMAKKAL	26	0	0	26	0	0	0	0	26	0	0	26
17-ERODE	13	1	0	14	0	0	0	0	13	1	0	14
18-TIRUPPUR	23	4	0	27	1	0	0	1	22	4	0	26

19-NILGIRIS (SC)	8	2	0	10	0	0	0	0	8	2	0	10
20-COIMBATORE	25	0	0	25	0	0	0	0	25	0	0	25
21-POLLACHI	18	1	0	19	1	0	0	1	17	1	0	18
22-DINDIGUL	19	0	0	19	1	0	0	1	18	0	0	18
23-KARUR	27	2	0	29	4	0	0	4	23	2	0	25
24-TIRUCHIRAPPALLI	27	4	0	31	1	1	0	2	26	3	0	29
25-PERAMBALUR	21	0	0	21	0	0	0	0	21	0	0	21
26-CUDDALORE	17	2	0	19	2	0	0	2	15	2	0	17
27-CHIDAMBARAM (SC)	14	3	0	17	2	0	0	2	12	3	0	15
28-MAYILADUTHURAI	20	3	0	23	4	0	0	4	16	3	0	19
29-NAGAPATTINAM (SC)	8	1	0	9	0	0	0	0	8	1	0	9
30-THANJAVUR	11	1	0	12	0	0	0	0	11	1	0	12
31-SIVAGANGA	28	0	0	28	1	0	0	1	27	0	0	27
32-MADURAI	32	1	1	34	2	1	0	3	30	0	1	31
33-THENI	29	0	0	29	6	0	0	6	23	0	0	23
34-VIRUDHUNAGAR	26	1	0	27	0	1	0	1	26	0	0	26
35-RAMANATHAPURAM	29	4	0	33	2	0	0	2	27	4	0	31
36-THOOTHUKKUDI	13	1	0	14	0	0	0	0	13	1	0	14
37-TENKASI (SC)	16	3	0	19	0	1	0	1	16	2	0	18
38-TIRUNELVELI	28	2	0	30	2	1	0	3	26	1	0	27
39-KANNIYAKUMARI	26	3	0	29	2	2	0	4	24	1	0	25
Total	842	63	1	906	53	8	0	61	789	55	1	845
Bye-election to TNLA from 28.Alandur AC	12	2	0	14	0	0	0	0	12	2	0	14